Life in Bloomington [winter remix]

It’s been a busy semester so far, and today’s steady stream of fluffy snowflakes reminds us that it’s still winter. But I’m happy that despite the cold and a few inches of snow, I managed to bike to school two of four days this week!

I’m one of those people who would ride my bike to school or work every day of the year if possible. Bloomington is a relatively bicycle-friendly city, so I happily peddled through the entire first semester without any trouble. But while the cold weather doesn’t keep my bike indoors (Bloomington isn’t usually as cold as my hometown, Chicago, anyway!), too much snow and ice do. Anyway, that’s one of the things I’ve found that I really like about Bloomington. In addition to all the great stuff going on around town (the Pride film festival recently passed, there are tons of international restaurants to try, and no shortage of great music around town), I’ve come to appreciate that I can get nearly everywhere I want to go as long as I don’t mind the bike ride.

Some of my classmates and I have also gotten into the habit of inviting each other over for dinner to keep us busy and social during the winter. Those dinners end up being great nights to relax with friends at the end of a long week, enjoy home-cooked meals, and avoid spending too much money (and time in the cold) by going out for dinner or drinks. I actually can’t remember the last Friday there wasn’t an informal invitation floating around to go to a potluck at someone’s house. And the best part is that there is no organization to it, no formal turn-taking. The dinners just happen, which I think says a lot about the community I’ve found at SPEA. And I can’t think of a better way to avoid that winter temptation to hibernate.

-Shannon

Leave a Reply

